Skip to main content

Board of Educational Examiners Staff Directory

Due to the large volume of requests, transactions in the summer take a minimum of four to six weeks to process. Please do not contact our office to check the status of an application if it has been less than six weeks.
 

Frequently Asked Questions

Please have your folder number ready before contacting our office.

Help Topics Staff Person Email
Account Logins Jessica Kurtz jessica.kurtz@iowa.gov
Board Secretary Kim Cunningham Kim.Cunningham@Iowa.gov
Information Technology Support Jeff DeBruin Jeff.DeBruin@Iowa.gov
Background Checks Danielle Brookes Danielle.Brookes@Iowa.gov
Substitute Authorization (non-teacher preparation)
Substitute License (teacher preparation)
Meredith Hawk meredith.hawk@iowa.gov
Teacher Licensure - New Iowa Graduates Sherry Jensen Sherry.Jensen@Iowa.gov
Attorney Nicole Proesch Nicole.Proesch@Iowa.gov
Counseling- endorsement(teacher) and professional service license (non-teachers)
Professional Service Licenses (non-counseling)
Statements of Professional Recognition
Mike Cavin Mike.Cavin@Iowa.gov
Extensions
Native Language Speaker Authorization
Teacher Licensure - Iowa Teacher Intern Program
Renewal
Joanne Tubbs Joanne.Tubbs@Iowa.gov
Coaching
Renewal
Steve Mitchell Steve.Mitchell@Iowa.gov
Conditional Licensure - Administrators
Driver's Education and Behind the Wheel Authorization
Principal Licensure
SAM Licensure
Superintendent Licensure
Investigator
Renewal
Greg Horstmann Greg.Horstmann@Iowa.gov
Career and Technical Education
Conditional Licensure - Regular Education
Military Exchange License
School Business Officials
Secondary Teacher Licensure - Out of Country Preparation
Secondary Teacher Licensure - Prepared at out of state college
Renewal
David Wempen David.Wempen@Iowa.gov
Conditional LIcensure - Special Education
Elementary Teacher Licensure - Out of Country preparation
Paraeducators
Special Education
Elementary Teacher Licensure - Prepared at out of state college
Renewal
Geri McMahon geri.mcmahon@iowa.gov
Investigator Diane Dennis Diane.Dennis@Iowa.gov